Return to On the Fly - OTF
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Durable and reliable January 23, 2016
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from California  
Despite other reviews saying that the cap would break, leak, etc., I bought this bottle almost a year ago and have never experienced such problems.  It has never gotten moldy, either.  I just need to wash it a few times a week.  I think this is a great product and I take it with me wherever I go.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
supply replacement rubber stoppers = 5 star rating December 30, 2015
Reviewer: Mold is black not GREEN! from Danvers, MA United States  
We have two bottles one 8 months old used daily/washed the rubber stopper molds.
We like green products! Make the stoppers! It is much less waste to only have to replace the stopper.


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Mechanism failed within weeks October 28, 2015
Reviewer: Ethan Handelman from Silver Spring, MD United States  
There's a button on the lid of the OTF bottle that opens the spout.  It has a plastic button that, on ours, broke and fell out after just a few weeks of use.  (Note, this is note the silicone gasket.)  When I wrote to Nalgene customer service asking for a replacement, all I got back was:

"Thanks for your email. We do not send replacement caps for OTF bottles. I have attached a link below that you can click on to order a replacement."

I have another OTF bottle that has served me well, but based on this failure to stand by a product, I'm looking elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?

  6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
OTF Molding Rubber Stopper October 11, 2015
Reviewer: Punkin's Gamz from Brooklyn, NY United States  
My son bought me a Nalgene bottle this past spring, and I love it.  I use it every single day.  I wash it every single day.  Yet, I began to get black spots on the rubber stopper in the cap.  I took it out and soaked it in bleach, but the spots remained. This tells me that the problem isn't just a surface issue.  The mold is growing INSIDE the rubber. I am very disappointed and disgusted by this.  

Nalgene, please provide replacement rubber stoppers to the customers with this problem.  Or just sell replacement rubber stoppers.  I love my bottle, and wouldn't mind buying new stoppers.   Using my bottle with a moldy cap is just not going to happen, and I refuse to purchase a new cap just for this to happen all over again.  Fix this!!

Was this review helpful to you?

  6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
Greatest bottle ever, almost... August 25, 2015
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
This would be the greatest water bottle ever made IF they fix the mold issue in the cap. It's that simple. This is the only bottle I know of doesn't leak all over, AND is easy to open one handed if you have normal sized fully functioning hands.

JUST READ THE REVIEWS NALGENE! Listen to your consumers please.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Mold In Silicone cap part grows August 18, 2015
Reviewer: Parents2two from Boston, MA  
I have 2 on the fly caps and the rubber silicone part grow black mold, Nalgene customer service told me to apply bleach to my children's Nalgene bottle tops. No I won't do that ! I bought new caps from amazon instead which screw on with narrow mouth holes without any silicone for mold to grow, called human gear cap bottle caps.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Mold on rubber stopper August 7, 2015
Reviewer: Veronica N. from Petaluma, CA United States  
Everything about this bottle is great except that the rubber stopper inside the cap grows small black specks of mold!  We have 3 on the fly bottles (one large and 2 kids) and all 3 have mold on the rubber stoppers.  Replacement caps are available for sale but not the rubber stopper alone.  I have made 2 requests to Nalgene to make available just the rubber stoppers or improve the quality of it.  This product would of received a 5 star had it not been for this issue.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Customizable is a Plus February 20, 2015
Reviewer: Mrs. McDonald from Voorhees, NJ United States  
We've had ours for years and they've never leaked when closed properly. Held up well with my kids going from toddler to boy and girl.

The lids for the OTF are tight, which is problematic when it comes to children or people with possible carpal tunnel wrists (like me). My kids can open it well enough, but it's a lot of effort to get them to close it properly without tipping it over while trying to get it closed without spilling.

About the mold. That only ever happen to 1 of my husband's bottles, which had the older generation stoppers. The new ones don't seem to have that problem for me. I do soak the lids in the Dawn Bleach Alternative dish soap with super hot water. That might be something to try.

If you, as a customer, need a replacement part but it's not being sold, contact them. Their customer service has been AMAZING thus far for me.

PS. Your character limit is frustrating, Nalgene.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good, but..... January 20, 2015
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Grand Island, NE United States  
I really like my OTF lid, but the black spots that appear on the rubber stopper absolutely gross me out.  I only use it for water, and wash it regularly. Why doesn't Nalgene sell replacement stoppers?  I will not spend the money on another top, just for a rubber stopper that will turn black in 3 months. I have been a customer for over a decade, and this is the first time I have been disappointed in your product Nalgene.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Cap and bottle don't line up August 25, 2014
Reviewer: Chris from United States  
This bottle would be 5 stars & great if it weren't for one big flaw. The designers put in  a nice thumb indent and a narrow flat back where the measurements are that would make it comfortable to hold and drink from no matter what your hand size or which hand you favor. The execution is the problem because the threads for the cap, made in China, and those of the bottle, made in the US, don't match up correctly thus defeating the design. The cap is exactly 3/4" off to the right of where it should be. I know this because there is an arrow pointing to where the center of the drinking spout should be exactly in the middle of the thumb indent on the shrink wrap that's covering the bottle portion when you receive it. (I'd insert a picture if I could.) The result is that while you can still use it one-handed (sort of), it's no longer comfortable to hold and drink from for my small hand.
Otherwise, it's fine and doesn't leak.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items
Terms and Conditions All materials on this site are copyright 2016, Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc. Site by Minerva DesignBuilt with Volusion