Return to On the Fly - OTF
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great bottles - dependable December 14, 2013
Reviewer: Doc Wally from grand Blanc, MI United States  
I have 4 OTF bottles that I use daily. From taking to the office to hiking, cutting firewood, etc. I love them, they never leak and take a beating. Also my wife has two that she uses at home daily - no problems whatsoever with our 6 OTF bottles. No "mold" or leaking of the rubber stoppers on any of our bottles. I wash them every month or so. Oh yeah I guess maybe the one fault is that they don't fill themselves!!! lol

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
LOVE but so sad. October 21, 2013
Reviewer: Courtney Costa from Portsmouth, VA United States  
I love this bottle. I have the red cap one. The only time I've had it spill is because I had it open when knocking it over. At first had a hard time open and closing but now after using it so much. Its very easy. I'm sad because I just saw today that the rubber stopper on the inside of the cap has spots of mold. I don't want to have to buy a new bottle. PLEASE make replaceable rubber stoppers!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great, but October 11, 2013
Reviewer: Jeramie Jones from Los Angeles , CA United States  
We own about 6 Nalgene bottles 3 of witch are the OTF bottles. I've had to buy replacement caps due to the fact that the rubber stopper on the inside always develops black spots , despite the fact that I wash it every day. I wish that replacement rubber stoppers were available .

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
It was great - until it started leaking December 13, 2012
Reviewer: Clay Harris from Duluth, GA United States  
I really like the overall look, feel, and operation of the bottle.  It's great.  The metal lock came off a couple times, but that was an easy fix.  The problem I have now however is that the bottle leaks around the threads, where the top connects to the bottle.  I work in IT - spilling water is not an option, and this used to be my nearly accident-proof bottle.  Not anymore.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Durable & Perfect Size November 15, 2012
Reviewer: Megan Noel Rhea from Houston, TX United States  
I recently bought this bottle in pink for a Haiti trip. It fit seamlessly in every bag and was literally thrown around by a bunch of kids and did not leak once! LOVE this bottle and it's pink! Thank you!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
does the job August 9, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Texas  
I've read many reviews that the OTF is a bit hard to press shut, especially with one hand. At first this was true to me, but after many uses I have been able to both open and close this water bottle with just one hand.
This is my first Nalgene water bottle, and it's been great. Like all Nalgenes, this water bottle is near indestructible. Although the other day, the metal hasp popped out but I was easily able to pop it back in.
i recently ordered the 32 oz wide mouth Nalgene water bottle only because I drink a lot of water and a 16 oz was just not enough for me!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Needs a little work March 2, 2012
Reviewer: Sarah from Cleveland, TN United States  
I used to have the OTG, and it did leak everywhere. The OTF does not leak and that is great,but it also does not shut properly. I have to use a great deal of force to get it to shut,which is not cool. It is supposed to be easy to use, with one hand on a bicycle. There is just no way I could do that with this bottle.Pros- now bpa free and leak proof. Cons-will not open or shut easily. If they just fix the locking mechanism the lid would be perfect! Although, for now I would recommend their narrow mouth bottle, that seems to be the best deal.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Perfect for biking! One handed! July 28, 2011
Reviewer: David from NY & VA  
This bottle is perfect for me. It blows my cheap plastic bike bottle out of the water. It's everything you'd ask for from Nalgene, AND with quick, one handed operation. It's got a locking mechanism in it, and all you do is have to push to open or swing it shut to lock closed. A secondary metal hasp is on the bottle to keep it closed in backpacks and such, but I don't use the secondary when riding since I want to use one hand.

Was this review helpful to you?

  5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
 
On the Fly is not so fly! March 16, 2011
Reviewer: Emily Bluck from Claremont, CA, United States  
I bought this recently to test out on an epic biking adventure with my partner, and we're sad to say that OTF is not the best water bottle for easy, one-handed drinking accessibility. First, maybe it's just us, but the metal hinge to keep the bottle spill/leak proof was not very convenient for one-handed opening. We would have much preferred to have the hinge flip down to lock and close instead of flipping up where it's more difficult to open with our thumbs without having to get off our bicycles. The plastic hinge portion also doesn't close so easily, making it difficult to close securely while biking. We do like the leak-proof qualities, and indestructible nature, and the fact that it is slim enough to fit in our water bottle cages, but if you're looking for something to sip easily while you're on your road bike, this doesn't cut it.

Was this review helpful to you?